Now Reading
LOOK: UP Fighting Maroons are UAAP S84 champions

LOOK: UP Fighting Maroons are UAAP S84 champions

UP brings home the title and ends three-decade drought

The University of the Philippines (UP) Fighting Maroons were pretty lucky during the Friday the 13th championship game against the Ateneo Blue Eagles as they bagged the title for the first time in 36 years.

The University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) 84th season of men’s basketball was joined by eight teams this season. The teams included Far Eastern University (FEU), National University (NU), University of Sto. Tomas (UST), Adamson University, University of the East (UE), De La Salle University (DLSU), University of the Philippines (UP), and the recently dethroned Ateneo de Manila University (ADMU). After winning three times in a row, the Fighting Maroons toppled the reign of the Blue Eagles.

Through an interview posted on The UAAP Facebook page, first-year head coach of the Fighting Maroons Goldwin Monteverde said, “I feel very happy right now. I want to thank the UP community. I also want to thank the Lord God for this championship.”

The UP Fighting Maroons ruled via a final score of 72-69 at an overtime game. The finals’ MVP was awarded to Malick Diouf who counted 17 points and nine rebounds while CJ Cansino also had a good finish with 14 points in total.

The UP Fighting Maroons first won the title during the second season back in 1939-1940, and the second time in the year 1986-1987. This year’s win is their third. 

Featured image source: The UAAP Facebook page

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top